Skip to content

Move over Martha.

January 17, 2011

I think I’m channeling my inner Martha Stewart as of late. No, I’m not going all crafty on you – although I have enough craft supplies stashed in my office to do something really fun, I seem to be VERY lacking in the time department, so that won’t be happening anytime soon. Actually, now that I’m thinking about it, maybe it’s not Martha I’m channeling, but more like Frugal Fergie. I may have just created Frugal Fergie, but it sounds better than “channeling my inner tight-ass” – and by “tight ass” I mean cheap, as there is nothing tight about my 7+ month pregnant ass. But, I digress…..

I heard somewhere that you can make your own laundry detergent. Now, this was a while back and my first thought was, why would anyone want to do that?! When I hear that you can make something from scratch, my natural train of thought goes something like this….. by the time you invest all the time and hassle in making it yourself, and the fact that you probably have left over supplies that you can’t do anything with, you really didn’t save much of anything but received a whole lot of headache in the process. Not worth it. But, after seeing this homemade laundry detergent on a few blogs that I happen to really like, I looked into it a bit more.

Turns out, it’s actually super easy, super cheap, few ingredients, and a few others have done tests on it and said it worked just as well as Tide. Well, by gosh, I’m in. So, while I haven’t made it yet (that darn thing called “time” keeps eluding me, but I’ll catch it one of these days), I do have everything on my washing machine just begging me to take the 5 minutes and do it. It’s on my to-do list this week, which makes it very much a possibility (if it’s not on the list, fuhget about it). And here’s another big bonus…. while I’ll have some ingredients left, those can also be used in creating my own dishwasher detergent, homemade Comet, and homemade 409.

So basically, for the $6.00 of “stuff” I bought, I can make a whole pile of cleaning supplies, only needing to add basics that I already have on hand like dish soap and vinegar. Now that I can handle. I’ll let you know how it all goes, but right now, I’m feeling pretty darn confident. I’m thinking I may add some essential oil to the 409 mixture so that it smells pretty too. See, I told you I was channeling Martha!

One Comment leave one →
  1. Lizzy permalink
    February 18, 2011 4:20 am

    Post the recipe… You know I’m always in for a fun project!

Leave a Reply

