Skip to content

It’s a conspiracy I tell you!

September 27, 2010

Why is it that the only bedding for boys fall into one of the following categories:

                              1)  It’s covered with a lifesize rendition of a superhero/character.

                              2)  It has more sports ball on it than a gym at PE time.

                              3)  It looks like a zoo – literally.

                              4)  It costs over $100.

Who spends over $100 on a quilt for a little kid?  Not this cheap ass frugal mother.  Let’s be honest, the quilt’s going to be peed on at least a couple times – while my 2.5 year old is pretty good when it comes to being potty trained, he still has the occassional night time accident (this may have something to do with the fact that he chugs 2 cups of chocolate milk before bed and insist on having his sippy cup reside on his beside table at bedtime.  Whatever.).  Then you have to add in the fact that the ridiculously furry cat and the 90 pound sheds-like-it’s-her-job lab both insist on sleeping on the bed with him (which I actually LOVE, as it means they’re NOT sleeping with me.).  And lastly, I don’t even spend $100 on bedding for myself, and I know how to appreciate it.

Now, if I were looking for bedding for a girl, I’d be set – they have tons of cute, cheap options for girl’s (things that don’t involve animials, Hannah Montana, or flowers galore).  But for boys, not so much.  I found this one that I like….

So of course they want $60 for a TWIN!  Now, that might not be so bad, except that I need two of them for the boys’ big boy room.  I just don’t think I can bring myself to pay $120 for bedding for the boys’ room.  Surely I can come up with something similar but much cheaper.  Any ideas?

One Comment leave one →
  1. CRAZEY GRANDMA permalink
    September 28, 2010 1:04 pm

    why not ask me to sew something? there is plenty of material out there that would fit your liking.

Leave a Reply

