Skip to content

Nostalgia

May 26, 2010

I’m having fits of nostalgia lately.  Here are a few….

  • Otter Pops:  With Nolan being so sick a couple weeks ago (couldn’t-keep-water-down kind of sick), our nurse said to try popcicles.   B picked up a box of Otter Pops and I felt like I was 10 again.  Nolan is in LOVE with these things – it’s nothing for him to knock down 7 or so of them in one sitting.  I can’t blame the kid, they’re mighty tasty and make me want summer to hurry up and get here already so I can spend my days eating Otter Pops too (my lovehandles may beg to differ).

  • Salon Selectives Botanical Blends Shampoo and Conditioner:  Anyone remember loving this stuff when it first came out, somewhere over 15 years ago (wow, that just makes me feel OLD)?  I absolutely loved it!  Something about the smell of it, it was so tropical, so fruity, I was obsessed with it.  I don’t think they make the stuff anymore, but I did find some bodywash at good ol’ Wal-Mart the other day (Suave Mango Mandarin) that smells VERY similar. 
  • Cucumber Melon:  This smell seems to always make me flash back to freshmen and sophomore years of college.  It must have been the prefered smell of college girls at the time – you couldn’t go anywhere without smelling it and the dorm and Kappa showers always smelled of it.

  • “If you cut corners in the gym, you’ll cut corners in life.” :  Ok, so if you never ran laps in the gym with Jen Wagner, this means nothing to you.  I’m fairly certain Jen yelled this saying out everytime we had to run laps in the gym for warm ups – we were to run around the perimeter of the basketball court and she made sure to remind everyone not to cut corners with this lovely saying.  Well, the other day I was on my run and there was a funky 90 degree corner in the sidewalk and lo and behold, this saying popped in my head and I made sure to follow the path, as odd as it may be. 

That’s it for my blast of nostagia.  Anyone else have something that made them remember the past lately?

3 Comments leave one →
  1. Trena permalink
    June 2, 2010 3:05 pm

    I LOVED the Salon Selectives! Used it forever, until I didn’t. I’m not sure why I quit-smelled so good! And in the summer, I still use the cucumber melon from Bath & Body Works. Mmm. I smell like a fruit salad. 🙂

  2. Kellen permalink
    June 4, 2010 3:22 am

    I thoroughly enjoy your blog. Always nice to get on here every week/10 days and see what’s new in the life of Amy Briels.

    • June 4, 2010 5:19 pm

      Oh yes, many people just can’t wait to see what’s new with the motely Briels bunch. We’re just so darn exciting. =)

Leave a Reply

