Skip to content

Moooove on over Vanilla.

April 17, 2010

Vanilla – I’m completely over you.  My new love, hands down, is almond extract.  If I could marry it, without being committed to the asylum, and be the recipient of all of its gloriousness FOREVER, I totally would.

I’ve always been a fan of vanilla, easily doubling it in any recipe.  Heck, I never even measured when vanilla was called for – I just dumped it in until the alcohol vapors would start to make my nose burn.  It was a happy burn though.  Then, I borrowed a friend’s recipe for sugar cookies (the best sugar cookies I’ve had) and my life was completely transformed.  The recipe called for almond extract, something I had never heard of and most definitely did not have in my pantry.  Now, usually I just poo-poo things I don’t have on hand and do a little ad-lib, but these cookies were too good not to follow the directions step-by-step.  So off to the store I went, in search of this diamond in the rough….

And my life has never been the same since.  I use this nectar instead of vanilla for almost everything, or at least team the vanilla up with it.  French toast has never tasted SO good.  Frosting is a whole new experience.  This stuff haunts my tastebuds in my sleep.  Ok, that maybe a bit extreme, but I think you get my drift – this stuff is beyond fabulous!

I threw together a carrot cake this afternoon for a BBQ this evening (and I really do mean threw it together – it’s about the easiest recipe I’ve made).  This cake is delicious – you can find the recipe on the Pioneer Woman’s site.  I made it for our Easter potluck and I’ve never had so many raves about anything I’ve made before.  This time around, I dumped some almond extract into the cream cheese frosting…..  it’s heaven. 

That front corner has my name written all over it – I believe the frosting is extra heaped right there.  On second though, maybe almond extract is the devil, as I know it will force me to eat entirely too much of this cake tonight.  You’ve been warned.

One Comment leave one →
  1. April 18, 2010 4:37 pm

    Carrot cake… yum. I, too, love almond extract. Makes the best sugar cookies. 😉

Leave a Reply

