Skip to content

Tricky, tricky, tricky.

March 30, 2010

Ever visited A Soft Place to Land?  If you haven’t, start with this post…  I think she may have been in my head when she wrote it.

hook on the wall

From A Soft Place to Land

With two under two, I swear I deal with the things she talked about daily.  And I’m all about finding quick, cheap, easy fixes.  It’s what I’m all about.

While I’m in the mindset of sharing tips, here’s a few that I’ve started to impliment….

  • If a task will take less than 2 minutes to complete, do it right then.  Although this isn’t always possible, I’ve started doing it when I think about it and it has made life SO much easier.  Hanging up a shirt right when I take it off (because I’ve decided it’s a blah day and that shirt just isn’t doing it for me) rather than throwing it in a pile to hang up later.  By the end of the week, my dresser no longer exists.

While this is not my laundry pile, it very well could be.

  • On the weekends when we make pancakes or french toast, I make a double batch and freeze the extras.  During the week, we pop the frozen ones in the microwave or toaster for breakfast – so much healthier and cheaper than Eggos.

  • When making a casserole, I double it and freeze one.  Again, super simple and much better (and again, cheaper) than the frozen dinners.  Need an idea for a casserole?  Visit Tasty Kitchen for a huge assortment, you can spend hours browsing or type in an ingredient you want to use and it’ll narrow it down for you.

 

Anyone else have any tips you love?  Tips that make your life just that much easier?  I’d love to hear them – I need all the help I can get!

One Comment leave one →
  1. April 4, 2010 11:53 pm

    I do the same thing with pancakes and waffles. I have a huge ziplock filled with them and they last a looooonnnngggg time, since Quinn is the only one who eats them. I always make more food than we need, so we either have leftovers that week or I freeze. Works great with soup and chili, and anything you can put in the oven. I battle with the dishes and cleaning the floors. Gotta wait for just the right time when all humans have left the building, or I have to yell about footprints across my beautiful floors. Who needs the grey hairs??!!?? 😉

Leave a Reply

