Skip to content

It’s happening

March 9, 2010

Holy mother of….  well, I don’t exactly know.  Holy mother of all things that age, I suppose.

Now, I realize that at the age of 27 I shouldn’t really be complaining about aging.  But here’s the funny thing about age, it’s all relative.  I know that at 40 I’ll be kicking my ass for even thinking to complain about the evils that 27 brought on my body.  But at 27, I’m really missing those days of being 16 (well, not so much the days, but I sure do miss the tight, flawless skin).

What brings on this topic of aging, you ask?  Ok, so maybe you’re not asking, but that doesn’t change the fact that I’m going to be telling you, all the same.  The answer is gray hair (well, for the topic of this post anyhow – let’s not get started on all the other lovely issues).  A couple weeks ago I found a gray hair while I was getting ready for the annual chamber banquet (which, of course, was the only reason I noticed it at all, because I usually don’t spend more than 5 minutes on my hair and probably only30 seconds actually looking at it, which means that a gray hair easily goes un-noticed).  As I’m meeting up with the other gals I was attending this event with, I mentioned this observation, telling them that I quickly plucked the sucker from my head.  It was at that moment that one of them pointed out the several other gray hairs she noticed on my head.  Fabulous.

Since then, I swear that the buggers are reproducing like rabbits on top of my head.  I think it’s one of those phenomenons like when you’re pregnant – the minute you become pregnant, everyone around you is pregnant too.  The minute you find one gray hair, all of their little buddies start to come out of the wood work. 

Truth be told, I’m not too concerned with the onslaught of the grays – it’s called dye folks, and I’m not affraid to use it.  That’s the blessing of poo brown hair, it’s not so hard to match and a quick bottle ought to fix the problem(s).  But let’s be honest, since I only do my hair about once every 3 months and get it fixed (read: cut so that it no longer resembles the blob) about twice a year, those grays will probably be hanging out for a while.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. March 10, 2010 2:57 pm

    Wow…

  2. Erin permalink
    March 11, 2010 4:41 pm

    Happy Belated Birthday…hope it was great despite the gray hair:) Don’t worry, you aren’t alone–at least we all get to age together!

    Take care!

  3. Shelly permalink
    March 12, 2010 7:12 pm

    Oh no, I suck again…happy belated birthday. March slipped up on me and I even talked to you close to your birthday and forgot, that’s it, I’m officially the worst at Birthday remembering. Sorry friend 😦 Hope you had an awesome day with your boys!

Leave a Reply

