Skip to content

My kind of night.

February 21, 2010

It was time for a girls night.  The movie Valentine’s Day was coming out, and a friend and I decided that our other halfs were more than likely not interested in spending 2 hours of their life watching it.  We were.  So, we planned a little girls time on Wednesday. 

We started our night with dinner at the Geiser Grand.  The restaurant/hotel is a pretty big historic landmark for Baker.

It’s classically charming, loaded with lots of detail…..

But one of the best things about this place is that every Wednesday, they have a pasta bar!  This takes me back to memories of Kappa – of waiting in line for one of the best dinner nights, picking your ingredients, and then watching them all meld together with yummy sauces.  The ingredients offered at the Geiser are a bit more diverse than what was offered at Kappa, but the idea is the same.  Oh my goodness, it’s good.  The plates are ginormous.  The food is fabulous.  It’s heaven on a plate – love handles be damned.

After gorging ourselves, we headed to the our little movie theater. 

By the time we looked up from our pasta, we realized we’d be a few minutes late, but figured we were fine since there’s always a good 10 minutes of previews so we weren’t too worried.  Sure, we may have to skip the movie snack essentials of Milk Duds and Red Vines, but we could manage.  We walked into the theatre and to our surprise, the movie hadn’t even started yet.  Turns out, we were the only two people there – they were waiting for anyone to show up before they started it.  In the end, we were able to get our snacks, had the pick of seats, and could be as loud as we wanted.  At one point, I even contemplated asking the guy to stop the movie so that I wouldn’t miss anything while I ran to the bathroom.  I decided that may be pushing my luck though.

The movie was ok, not great but not bad.  The over-all night however, was fabulous.  I love our small town.  Nights out here are right up my alley, fun and laidback.  And I was even in bed by 10!  Now that’s a great night.

One Comment leave one →
  1. Trena permalink
    February 22, 2010 11:09 pm

    Ok, so I read this post, and what I got out of it was…Pasta Bar. Why did I not know about this? I am moving to Baker. Do you know a good realtor?

Leave a Reply

