Skip to content

Ugh, it’s happened….

April 21, 2009

I’ve turned into my mother.  Ok, maybe not on a regular basis, but I definitely had a moment this weekend.

For the majority of my life, I’ve lived out of town – meaning no neighbors close enough to look into your back yard and you’re too far of a drive for people to just stop by on a whim.  This often resulted in my mom wearing the most horrendous outfits on the weekends while working outside during the summer.  Even though I knew that no one else would see her in her awful get-up, I was embarassed – the outfits were that bad.  Sorry Mom, but you know it’s true – you were quite a sight.  I decided early on that when it came time for me to be a mother, I would not embarass my kid that way.

Well, after this weekend, I have to admit that I have failed.

Saturday afternoon, while Nolan was at my mom’s for the weekend and Brandon was out sturgeon fishing, I decided it was the perfect opportunity to re-paint the living room.  I’m not the cleanest painter, so I know not to wear anything that I don’t want ruined.  The outfit that I picked out for the occassion was perfect….

The top was a pink tie-dyed wife-beater tank-top from my junior year in high school (it was for volleyball team camp – the whole team made them and wore them).  I do take some comfort in the fact that I know of at least 2 other friends that have the same tank-top and still wear it on occassion.  Thank goodness I’m not alone in that one.  The bottoms were a pair of green & white plaid boxers, again from about 9 years ago.  These items show 9 years worth of fading, wear, and tear.  They’re not pretty on their own and even that much more worse when paired together.

Now, picture the above outfit on me who is definitely not the same size/firmness as I was 9 years ago AND IS 7+ MONTHS PREGNANT!  Yes, it was a sight.  I’m pretty sure I could have been at least a runner-up in the Miss White Trash USA contest.

The only reason I’m admitting to any of this is that I got caught.  Someone other than myself witnessed the lovely sight that I was.  I was in the middle of painting when a group of folks on horses rode past the house.  The dogs were out in the pasture and I knew once they saw other people, they’d head out to bark at them.  I didn’t want that to happen, so I ran outside to call the dogs into the yard before they could greet the horses and their riders.  Unfortunately, I wasn’t able to get the dogs in the yard before the riders spotted me.  I can only imagine what they though as I stood there  in the back yard in my lovely outfit, yelling at the dogs.  For some reason, the song “Redneck Woman” kept playing in my head.  It was my theme stong for rest of the day. 

Be glad you were all spared.  =)

3 Comments leave one →
  1. Holly Walker permalink
    April 21, 2009 7:16 pm

    Come on Amy where are the pic’s. You are so good at giving us the ones of happy times, come on share the joy of the outfit!

  2. AK Grandpa permalink
    May 9, 2009 1:41 am

    Keep ’em scared darlin’! Ain’t nuthin’ wrong showin’ yer “T” fer trailer. Ya can keep ’em down without a gun. that way. Love, Dad

  3. Kate C. permalink
    May 9, 2009 9:37 pm

    My goodness gracious – I have some idea what the people were thinking and how much of a hard time they probably had that night getting to sleep. But you might be a little more cautious – if your not careful you might get a citation for animal cruelty (poor horses)

Leave a Reply

