Skip to content

The doughnut fairy.

April 6, 2009

My dear friend Lizzy felt the need to not only blog about Krispy Kreme doughnuts last week, she also felt the need to post photos of them.  Lizzy, not nice.  Since then, I’ve had a craving for the darn things and of course living in Eastern Oregon, I’m nowhere near a KK store – the nearest one would be 2 hours away.  One of the gals that works in our office is moving to Portland this week and I actually went so far as to tell her to send a box of KK doughnuts as soon as she got to town.  I told you I was craving them.

So this morning I got to the office and guess what was on my desk…. 

A box of KK doughnuts! 

I was so excited I nearly peed myself (and there’s no exageration there since I chugged a liter of water between the house and the office and the kid was playing kickball with my bladder)!  Candy, another Realtor in our office, had seen some kids selling them for a fundraiser in Baker and, remembering how desperately I wanted a KK doughnut (not any doughnut mind you), bought a box for me.  Sweet, sweet lady!  She actually wouldn’t fess up to it at first, so I’m now calling her the Doughnut Fairy – this may be my favorite type of fairy ever, the Tooth Fairy has nothing on this one!

Now my challenge is not eating the entire box in one setting.  I’ve already downed 2 of them….  and it was heaven!  I’ve put the box in the freezer to help keep me away from them, but I have a 35 minute ride home and I can’t promise that any of the sweet little things will make it all the way to the house.  I’ll try to save one for Brandon, but if it doesn’t happen, I know he’ll undertand – that’s a trait of a good husband.  =)

One Comment leave one →
  1. Margie permalink
    April 14, 2009 12:01 am

    you put one of those little buggers in a microwave for 10 seconds and you won’t believe what they turn into. Just pure heaven is what it is. They are good cold, but hot and fresh, they rank right up there with oxygen. Try it, I dare ya. Oh yeah, if there are any left. 😉

Leave a Reply

