Skip to content

It’s getting worse….

March 4, 2009

My placenta brain is out of control today!  Well, more specifically, this afternoon. 

This morning was very productive – I was able to get some housework done and all of my client follow up for the day done while Mr. N took his wonderful morning nap (yay for 2 1/2 hours of mom time).

This afternoon is a completely different story.  For the life of me, I can’t seem to focus.  I’m here at work, on floor for the afternoon so I can’t really leave, and I can’t force myself to do anything productive.  I blame it all on placenta brain.  I was going to send out St. Patrick’s Day cards to some of my favorite clients, but I can’t even get the motivation to work on a craft project! 

I’m wondering if the fact that dinner’s in the crock-pot, the house is clean, and my basic to-do list for the day is done is making me less motivated.  Maybe I used up all of my motivation this morning.  I know that when I go home, I don’t have to do anything other than play with the kid, visit with my sister who will be here for the night, and spend time with the hubby.  Since everything else is already done, I’m just being lazy.  My laziness seems to be transforming into the inability to focus.  

Sadly, I know we’re just at the tip of the iceberg when it comes to the effects of placenta brain.  And really, it doesn’t get any better once the kid comes out.  I’m willing to bet that it even gets worse with each additional kid.  So, should the day come where you see me driving around town looking like a chicken with it’s head cut off, you’ll know why – it’s the mommy brain loss syndrom.

In other exciting news…  I ordered the 20 Minute Shred workout DVD after a good review on it from my trusted friend Lizzy.  I’m hoping that 20 minutes is something that I can stick to.  For just over $8, it’s worth a try.  Also, our taxes are done!  All that’s left to do is stick them in the mail to our accountant and let him work his magic.  Wahoo for being done with that.   And, the final bit of updates, it’s the 1A Basketball State Tournament in Baker this week, which means we’ll be seeing my mom and sister as they head down from Joseph to catch some of the games.  It also means that Nolan and I will get to take in a few games as well, and the boy loves to watch sports and clap, so it should be a good time had by all.  Lots of photos to follow all the games this week – keep and eye out.  I also promise to put some baby bump photos up soon – be patient with me, it’s all the placenta brain’s fault.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

