Skip to content

2 Nights

November 20, 2008

Yep, two whole nights without the little monkey.  So far, I’m not a total blubbering idiot.

Nolan’s Crazy Grandma, otherwise known as my mother, needs the little guy for one of her secret projects and asked if he could do it this Saturday.  That’s all fine and dandy.  The downside – Grandpa Kelly was passing through La Grande on his way back up to Joseph today, which means that to save everyone lots of extra driving, Nolan would head to Joseph today with Grandpa Kelly and Crazy Grandma would bring him back home on Saturday.  That means two nights without the little man.  Talk about hard.

Now, I realize he’s 8 months old and a night away from the parents to stay with the grandparents should be fine.  And really, one night is.  This, however, is two nights and let me tell ya, there’s a world of difference between one night and two nights.  We’ve done one night – WAY easier than this.  I know he’s in good hands, so I’ll just suck it up for now (tomorrow may be a different story, but we’ll cross that bridge when we get there).

On the bright side, that does free up both Brandon and myself so that we can make what I hope to be massive progress on the house between now and Saturday afternoon.  Here’s a brief re-cap of what we hope to finish:

  • finish flooring in hallway
  • primer/paint the few newly textured spots in the dining room and kitchen
  • level floor in dining room
  • lay flooring in dining room
  • paint game room
  • move stove and fridge back into kitchen (currently in dining room)

Right now I’m fairly optimistic, but I really think we can get this accomplished by Saturday afternoon.  If something gets put on the back burner, it’ll be painting the game room, but I’m hoping we can just bust buns and “git ‘r done.”  Keep your fingers crossed for me.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. Crazy Grandma permalink
    November 24, 2008 8:37 pm

    Thanks again for the 3 days and 2 nights with the little man. He really enjoyed his time with us and as always, a big hit with the gang at the Old Town. Remember, Liza loves him! I took a couple of pictures while he was here so maybe I can send you one. Sad fact to “CG” Nolan likes Grandpa Kelly better. Wait till he gets older, I’m sure I’m a better briber.

  2. Lizzy permalink
    November 25, 2008 1:03 am

    Do you call her Crazy Grandma to her face?

    Can we get some pictures of your handywork??

    xoxox

  3. Crazy Grandma permalink
    November 25, 2008 3:50 am

    I actually wear the title proudly! What do you think Amy Sue? Now or later?

Leave a Reply

