Skip to content

What the week holds…

October 29, 2008
tags:

Well, we’re still pretty snotty and congested around here, but I think we’ll survive.  Brandon called the other morning from some mountain top and he’s apparently got the same crud too.  On the bright side, at least we’ll all suffer through it at the same time and then hopefully all be better – none of that stuff where one gets sick then gets better just as another gets sick, that is one vicious circle.

The boy and I are headed to elk camp this afternoon to see Brandon – and of course give Nolan his first taste of hunting season, the first of many no doubt.  We’ll hang out for a couple days and then head into Burns to visit family and friends and partake in some trick-or-treating.  Pretty excited.

Another thing I’m excited for….  the serious hunting seasons are almost at an end!  Don’t get me wrong, I enjoy this time of year, hunting and all, but life has been a bit on the busy side – more busy than normal, and I need a break.  In the last 6 weeks, we have been home as a family 1 weekend – that’s right, o-n-e, one.  During summer, I’m accostomed to this, I’m ready for it – I am in go-push-drive mode.  But it’s fall, and I love fall – it’s a time to stay home, decorate for all the fun holidays, bake until you have nothing left in the pantry or no containers left to hold the goodies, lay on the couch and smell the yummy scented candles, watch football games galore, stomp through the leaves….  not spend hours in a car every weekend and switch out the dirty clothes in a still-packed-from-last-weekend suitcase.  Oh, how I’m looking forward to staying home….

Next weekend we’re off to Roseburg for a weeding, but then we’re staying put until the end of November – my foot is down.  Crap – just looked at the calendar, this is what I saw for our weekends for the remainder of the year….

Nov. 8th – Roseburg

Home for two weekends

Nov. 29 – NYC

Home for two weekends

Dec. 20 – Seattle

Dec. 27 – Burns

Seriously?!  We’ll only be home 4 weekends for the remainder of the year?!  Not sure how I feel about this.  I’m in the homebody mindset and this schedule is making me crazy.  Oh well, life is life.

Ok, enough of my griping – I will end on a positive note.  Here are a few pre-Halloween photos – there will be many more to follow, once the holiday is actually here.  It has been difficult for me not to dress the kid up in the costume everyday since we got it – he just makes me giggle.  Happy Halloween to all!!

dressing the monkey

dressing the monkey

Mmmm, tail.

Mmmm, tail.

Ok, I'm done playing now (Aunt Jo looks a bit scared).

Ok, I'm done playing now. Aunt Jo looks a bit scared.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Lizzy permalink
    October 29, 2008 9:39 pm

    When are you going to be in Roseburg?? I am hoping it is the same weekend as a Duck game and then maybe we could see you for just a little bit!!

    xoxoxo

  2. October 30, 2008 4:29 pm

    Quinn and I were giggling like a couple of monkeys over your little monkey! How stinkin’ cute! I’d be tempted to have him wear that 24-7, although diaper changes might be difficult..

Leave a Reply

