Skip to content

All in a number.

October 23, 2008

7 must be my number – my go-to number anyhow.

Finally, at 7 months, I get the kick in the arse that I needed to get back in shape.  Someone asked how old Nolan was the other day and I realized that he was 7 months.  Now, at 4 months I could make excuses as to why I hadn’t got my butt in gear to loose this extra chub.  Even at 5 months I could rationalize it all.  At 6 months it was getting difficult.  I held on to 6 1/2 months for as long as I possible could – and after I realized that it was after the 18th (which meant that Nolan was officially 7 months), I had to let go of all the excuses.  7 months is rounding up to 1 year, and 1 year is just not ok for this chub I’m packing (and let me tell ya, I’m packing it in a lot of places).

I started the “eat healthy” bandwagon, got it rolling.  I don’t call it a diet because I love food entirely too much to put a stop to it all, but I am eating better.  But that’s just not enough. 

I’ve put the idea of working out in my head for the last month or two, but that’s where it remained, in my head.  While flipping through channels the other morning, I came across an infomercial for a workout thing-a-ma-gigger that made me come this close to calling – that’s when I knew it was time to get my butt in gear.  Really, when you’re ready to order workout stuff from an infomercial at 6 in the morning, it’s time to get a movin’.

So, I am getting back in running mode.  I started Tuesday and have been running every day – yes, I realize that’s only 3 days, but it’s all about the baby steps.  Today I actually got my running rhythm back, so I’m motivated.  I love when all the gunk has cleared out of your lungs and you get back in the rhythm and running is fun.  Oh, I miss those days, but hopefully seeing them soon.

Cheers to all of you who are in the same chub boat as I.  We’ll be out soon enough – I can feel it. =)

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

