Skip to content

Go big or go… well, just go.

October 2, 2008

I’ve always been a “go big or go home” motto kind of gal.  That is, until recently.  I’ve decided that I’ve been using that motto as an excuse – one of many mind you, but an excuse none the less. 

I’ve been needing to get on the workout/eat healthy bandwagon for a while now, but it just hasn’t happened.  There are excuses galore, some pretty darn good, but others just fluff.   Among my fluff excuses is the one that goes something like this…  there’s no point in working out if you can’t get a REAL workout in.  I’m a big fan of the 1.5 hour, bust buns, poor sweat, gasp for breath kinda workout.  If you can’t get your full workout in, there’s really no point in doing any of it – a half hour doesn’t do squat.  Well folks, that mentality has now been beaten down by reality.

I have, on a good day, a half hour to spare (hence the lack of blog entries).  And I’m now going to dedicate that half hour to getting my squishy self back into shape – one that doesn’t resemble a really ripe (and by really ripe, I mean really soft) pear.  I’ve made a lovely little list of what to occupy my 30 minutes with – rotating between cardio and strength training.  I’ve been hearing about this “Shred” phenomenon that I’m about ready to give a try – I’m waiting to hear feedback on this lovely new program.  In all honesty, I do best when I have someone to do the workout with, be it someone by my side or someone yelling at me from the TV.  Basically, I need someone to push me, so I’m really hearing to get positive feedback on this shred program – I know that if left to my own devices, I will slack off on the intensity of my workout of there’s not someone yelling at me from somewhere.

I have also printed out my weekly eat-healthy menu, complete with shopping list – I am determined!  I don’t call it a “diet” because “diet” implies that you have to stick to something – this is more of a flexible eating routine with many options, lots of food, and they even create my shopping list for the week.  I tried this eating routine once before, and it actually worked!  I am excited about this – I’m ready to shed a bit of this weight and I love that all the thought work is taken care of – plus, it really is a ton of food, more than I can even eat which is saying a LOT.  It’s all lists, and I can work with lists – hell, I thrive off lists.

So, should any of you have wonderful insights to share, please, pass them on.  I’m determined to be much closer to my old self by the new year – and that is sneaking up entirely too quickly.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. Holly permalink
    October 2, 2008 8:23 pm

    I used to do the Billy Blanks work out I treid to spell it but it just looked funny. It was one that would kick your ass But the jeans fit really well and then you had more stamina to climb them stairs while on tour. Bad thing about it is you do sweat like a pig while doing it but hey what are you looking for. Great thing was that you were hungry and wtih your list you may be able to eat all tha is on it. After all it is all about the food right???

  2. Holly permalink
    October 2, 2008 8:24 pm

    I used to do the Billy Blanks work out I treid to spell it but it just looked funny. It was one that would kick your ass But the jeans fit really well and then you had more stamina to climb them stairs while on tour. Bad thing about it is you do sweat like a pig while doing it but hey what are you looking for. Great thing was that you were hungry and wtih your list you may be able to eat all that is on it. After all it is all about the food right???

  3. Lizzy permalink
    October 2, 2008 11:57 pm

    I will give you my honest opinion (complete with before and after pictures) of me doing the Shred if you send me your eating plan! I am the worst at knowing what to eat. If it were up to me, I’d have a bag of cookies for dinner. With a glass of milk for calcium, of course.

    xoxoxo

  4. October 6, 2008 12:29 am

    Cut carbs, drink mucho water, don’t eat after 7 pm, always, always eat breakfast, don’t be afraid of eggs, get as much sleep as you can. Lack of sleep makes it impossible to lose weight. And be kind to yourself – slow and steady, don’t ya know.

Leave a Reply

