Skip to content

I’m in love!

September 21, 2008
tags:

Seriously.  I have a new found love.

Mr. Clean Magic Eraser.

A client of mine told me about this wonderful thing.  She has four – yes, four – little boys and swears by them.  We were talking about white grout – well, more like I was bitching about it – and she said to try the Mr. Clean Magic Eraser.  Now, if I’m going to take advice on cleaning something, I’m going to listen to the gal with four little boys.

I tried it today, and I am officially in love.  First test was the french doors heading to the back yard.  These are metal doors with white paint/primer/finishing/whatever on them, but the area by the handle (where dirty hands constantly touch to open and shut the door – and keep in mind, this the door we mainly use) was a lovely brown/black color from dirt/grime/etc.  I’ve tried everything to get these darn things clean and nothing worked – until the magic eraser!  Test one – A+!!

Second test was the bathroom floor – white tile with the occassional gray tile, and white grout.  Sidebar – if you have indoor/outdoor animals and a husband and/or kid that likes to get dirty, do not, I repeat, DO NOT use white grout to tile the bathroom floor.  That being said, the grout on my bathroom tile floor is white again!  This grout has not been white since the day we laid it.  I am amazed.  Test two – A++!!

I’m about to go google this magic eraser to see what health issues there are with it.  I say this because, quite frankly, it seems too good to be true.  Seriously, I didn’t even have to scrub – just a gentle pass-over with what looks like a white, foamy sponge.  If this thing isn’t linked to some odd ailment causing the user to grow frog-shaped tumors from the side of one’s head, I’m stalking up on these wonderful gizmos!

Has anyone else heard of these things?  Used them?  Anything I should know about that I’m not aware of?

3 Comments leave one →
  1. September 21, 2008 7:26 pm

    Have used them, can’t say that I had the ephiphany that you had with Mr. Clean, but they do work. I’m sure they stay in a landfill for two or three centuries, but what can ya do? Clean grout is priceless. : )

  2. Lizzy permalink
    September 23, 2008 6:29 pm

    I haven’t tried them but will pick one up tonight and do my own test 🙂 We have a spot by the dront door that Oliver always jumps on and it’s gross. PLEASE let it work!!

    Will report back!

    xoxoxo

  3. May 17, 2010 6:25 pm

    We like the magic eraser too. I’ll have to try it out on grout next per your suggestion. We were pleased to find it cleaned one of our office copy machines real nice and took the scuff marks off of the walls without removing the paint.

    http://maidinchicago.us/wordpress/?p=390

Leave a Reply

