Skip to content

Fabulous

September 13, 2008
That was my Friday – fabulous. 

Nolan and I met up with our friend Jessica and her little boy, Chayton (Chayton is two months older than Nolan), and after grabbing a coffee at Dutch Bros, headed up to Wallowa Lake for a hike.  The weather was perfect and the trail we took was great – hard enough to give us a good work out, but not so difficult that they had to send rescuers in for my out-of-shape self.

Hanging out just before we headed up the trail

Hanging out just before we headed up the trail

The boys did great – no fussing and they seemed to enjoy the 3+ hour hike.  They were pretty excited about the waterfalls – couldn’t even get them to look away for a photo.

Looking over the bridge to the creek below

After some goofy animal noises, we managed to get a group photo.
Nolan even squeezed a nap into the adventure.

All in all, I’d say they enjoyed themselves.

Afterwards, we stopped by my mom’s (aka, Grandma’s) for lunch.  The boys were happy to be able to sprawl out and roll around.  We spent some time relaxing in the grass, picked some plums, and the boys even got to pet their first horse (photos of that still to come).  It was such a wonderfully peaceful afternoon that it actually made me hope that summer stays around for a while longer.

Here’s what the boys had to say about the day…

out - completely out.

out - completely out.

It was such a great day, I’m not even going to complain about the pinched nerve I have in my neck right now (well, I’ll try not to complain too loudly anyway).

2 Comments leave one →
  1. September 14, 2008 9:25 pm

    Oh, holy crud – sounds like the perfect day! And really, not much cuter than fat babies ready for a hike. Hope that nerve lets up on you soon…soon enough for the next hike.

  2. September 16, 2008 2:59 am

    Okay, here I am again. I’m not stalking you, really. Just that picture of Nolan sleeping in the car cracks me up! How fat and round they all are at that age! I remember the thankles and neckless look. Too sweet!

Leave a Reply

